Principal Investigator

Jonathan Rochford, Ph. D.,

Associate Professor.

Prof. Rochford earned his B.Sc. in Pure and Applied Chemistry with first  class honors at the School of Chemical Sciences, Dublin City University (DCU), Ireland in 2000. He continued his studies at DCU where in 2005, under the supervision of Dr. Mary T. Pryce, he completed his Ph.D. titled "Steady state and laser flash photolysis studies of ferrocenyl group VI Fischer carbenes and metalloporphyrins". Subsequently, Prof. Rochford spent two years as a Postdoctoral Associate in the research group of Prof. Elena Galoppini at Rutgers University investigating molecule-semiconductor interfaces in dye-sensitized solar cells. In 2007 Prof. Rochford joined the Thermal, Photo- and Radiation-Induced Reactions in Condensed Media program at Brookhaven National Laboratory as a Research Associate where, under the supervision of Dr. Etsuko Fujita, he investigated proton-coupled electron transfer reactions of transition metal catalysts for application in water oxidation catalysis. Prof. Rochford joined UMass Boston as Assistant Professor in 2009 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2015.


Graduate Students

Raymond Borg Summer 2015 - present Photoacoustic contrast agents
Meaghan Mckinnon Spring 2015 - present Catalytic CO2 reduction
Gerald Gilligan Spring 2015 - present Dye sensitized solar cells
Nicholas A. Lee Fall 2013 - Fall 2015 Dye sensitized solar cells
Tue (Ken) Ngo Fall 2012 - present Catalytic CO2 reduction
Stephanie Bellinger-Buckley Summer 2012 - present Photoacoustic contrast agents

Undergraduate Students

Christopher Ellis Fall 2015 - present Photoacoustic contrast agents
Veronika Belkina Spring 2015 - present Catalytic CO2 reduction
Tenzin W. Nanchung (Senior) Spring 2015 - present Dye sensitized solar cells
Farha Mithila Fall 2014 - present Photoacoustic contrast agents
Christopher Savage (Senior) Spring 2014 - present Non-innocent ligand complexes
Zachary R. Anzalone (Senior) Spring 2014 - present Dye sensitized solar cells
Esraa S. Ahmad (Senior) Spring 2014 - present Photoacoustic contrast agents

Former Lab Members (current position)

Dr. Remya P. Narayanan Fall 2014 - Spring 2015 Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Dr. Matheiu Frenette Fall 2013 - Summer 2015 Assistant Prof. Université du Québec à Montréal
Yvan S. Bouyou, BS Spring 2014 - Summer 2015 Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France.
Meriem Khiat (visiting) Spring 2015 - present Université des Sciences et des Technologies d'Oran-Mohamed Boudiaf
Yongzhu Zhou Fall 2013 - Fall 2014 Tianjin University visiting researcher, DSSCs
Dr. Bani Mahanti Fall 2013 - Fall 2014 Upsalla University, Sweden.
Alexander Peabody, BS Fall 2013 - Fall 2014  
Helen Cuiyun Zhao, MS Fall 2010 - Summer 2013 PhD studies with Prof. Jason Green UMB
Barbara Mello, BS Fall 2010 - Spring 2013 Brookhaven National Laboratory (SULI program)
Dr. Seema Bag (Postdoc) Fall 2012 - Summer 2013 The Pollastri Group, Northeastern University

Sashari Pinnace, BS (McNair fellow)

Fall 2011 - Summer 2013 Frisk University, Nashville, TN.
Daniel Kossila, BS Fall 2012 - Summer 2013  
Danielle Robinson, BA Fall 2011 - Fall 2012 Medical school
Joseph P. Harney, MS Spring 2010 - Spring 2012

Teacher at Pelham High School, NH.

Hara P. Chowdhury, BS Fall 2010 - Spring 2011

Shire Pharmaceuticals, Cambridge, MA.

Chibueze Nwokeji, BS Summer 2010

Dow Chemical Company


Stanislav Groysman Wayne State University
David C. Grills Brookhaven National Laboratory, NY
Massimiliano Lamberto Monmounth University, NJ
Ming-Kang Tsai National Taiwan Normal University, Taipei
Biprajit Sarkar Freie Universitaet Berlin
Chandra Yelleswarapu Department of Physics, UMass Boston